Some people say history is one the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, whether history should be considered as one of the most paramount subjects in school or if science and technology could be viewed as being more essential have been called into question. From my perspective, I think the latter is more likely to be of much higher importance.

On the one hand, we cannot deny the magnitude of learning history to an individual’s development in terms of characteristics and skills. Comprehending about numerous adversities which ancestors overcame in the past in order to have a better life today such as many resistance movements to overthrow French and American governments, a lot of soldiers lost their lives to reclaim our sovereignty, etc helps students respect their life and be grateful to soldiers as well as instill great patriotism. Additionally, students can refine their reading and writing skills through both reading historical events from a wide array of time periods and analyzing information from multiple sources. For instance, after reading an article about the war between French and Vietnamese, students can write a paragraph indicating their feelings.

On the other hand, along with history, science and technology subjects are also fundamental in contemporary society. First of all, getting well exposed to these subjects does a favor for learners gaining a profound insight into major-related knowledge such as statistical data, scientific analyses. Therefore, they can easily apply this knowledge in reality to create innovative devices such as robots and practical research to improve their daily basics. Secondly, science and technology can alleviate and eradicate diseases to make life more convenient. For example, they can learn how medicines and treatments have been created and then they can find new vaccines to protect human’s life. Finally, technology subjects help them learn more about outer space beyond the Earth. Discovering the universe is becoming more and more easier by satellite and GPS. Personally, I think that with the usefulness of science and technology, we can create more modern devices to serve our lives and develop our country.

To sum up, both the subjects of history and science and technology have their own benefits for learners. Hence, it is necessary for students to learn and gain knowledge from those subjects.