Events like the football World Cup and The Olympics are watched by millions of people around the world. Even
though the primary focus of these events is to celebrate athletic prowess, I believe that they also help to create better
relationships between countries in three ways.
Firstly, international sports competitions offer countries a safe outlet for their rivalry. Although it might be argued that
there is sometimes violence between fans at sports events, in most cases matches between countries with difficult
political differences often pass without incident. Moreover, in these instances, the countries involved are able to
demonstrate their superiority on the sports field rather than the battlefield. The Olympic Games held during the cold
war between the Soviet Union and the Western Bloc provide a good illustration of this, with both groups doing
everything they could to beat their opponents, but in the safety of sport rather than war.
Another way in which sporting events promote peace is by giving better cultural understanding. Very often the host
nation of major sporting competitions rotates between countries and continents, allowing the rest of the world a
window into a particular society for a few weeks. Opening ceremonies, in particular, are a chance to show to the
world the unique culture of the organising country. Moreover, the spectators who come to watch the sport experience
the customs and traditions of the country and then take those experiences back with them. All of this helps promote
cultural understanding and acceptance, which is a key factor to peace.
Finally, major sporting events are a time when the world focuses its eyes in one direction. They are a time to put
disputes aside and celebrate the achievements of mankind as a whole. With so many competitors from so many
countries striving towards the same goal, it is a time to remember that despite our many differences, we are all
humans who want to achieve the same things in life. I believe that in this way sport has a unique ability to cross
cultural boundaries and reveal the similarities between all mankind.
In short, major sporting events are able to help promote cultural understanding and highlight the essential sameness
of the human race. As a result, I strongly agree that they help to advance peace in the world.