Some people say that the Internet is responsible for destroying social skills of teenagers and young adults.

Why do you think the Internet is seen as dangerous in this way and what can we do to ensure that it does not harm the social development of teenagers and young adults?

Since its invention, the Internet has changed the way teenagers and young adults communicate. Some commentators even argue that its development has negatively affected the social skills of this group. This essay will present some ideas about why this is seen as dangerous and how we can ensure that its impact in this area is minimized.

The Internet can lead to a lack of social skills in several areas. As an activity which is usually done alone, prolonged use of the Internet can lead to a feeling of isolation and detachment from the world. Teenagers are especially vulnerable to these feelings as they have not developed strong peer groups and often lack emotional strength. Excessive use of the Internet could lead to the inability to communicate effectively with other people in face-to-face situations and often comes at the expense of more social activities such as meeting with friends.

One solution to combat the negative effects of the Internet on young people is to ensure they are not overusing it. Limits should be placed on the amount of use and other forms of recreational activity should be encouraged. Another strategy would be to ensure young people have ‘Internet-free’ days and undertake activities that promote social skills, for example, joining youth or sports clubs.

In summary, it can be seen that over-exposure to the Internet can be dangerous to young people. Specifically, it could harm the development of social skills at a crucial time in their lives. We should all try to ensure that this does not happen before it becomes a major issue in our society.