Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an irrefutable fact that trees and greenery are of significant importance in urban areas. Despite the lack of housing in cities and towns, a segment of society is convinced that we should plant trees in available urban spaces rather than building housing blocks. I completely agree with this opinion. The following paragraphs will highlight my point of view along with relevant examples.

To commence with, trees play a key role in our daily life, because they buffer sound, generate oxygen and clean the air from carbon dioxide. Subsequently, people living in residential areas with greenery can have better health. Moreover, green areas are necessary for cities' ecosystems, since they attract various wildlife, for example, insects, butterflies, birds, bees. As it follows, planting trees in cities and towns can bring numerous advantages to people and the environment. On the contrary, living in concrete districts without plants may lower the quality of life.

Adding further, if governments build more houses in open spaces, this will lead to issues like congestion, development of concrete jungles. As a result, it will cause unemployment, increased crime rates. Take, for instance, Hong Kong. The residents are moving to suburban areas because the city is overcrowded. Hence, I do not support the idea of building houses in cities. Instead, the government can construct housing in rural areas.

To conclude, I personally believe that green areas facilitate the healthy development of residents both mentally and physically. Therefore, governments should give favour to planting trees rather than building more houses.