Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As an effective and powerful instrument for companies to promote their product and service, nowadays advertising has already become an integral part of our social life and business world. Some people argued that the main purpose of advertisement is to encourage the mass to spend money on nonessential merchandise, but I tend to not support this statement because the functions of commercial ads also include providing information for customers in favor of making smarter purchases as well as building impressive brand images.

For the public, the information that advertisements provided can help them make the right buying decision. First of all, adverts keep the viewers updated about the latest trends of the market and the latest features of the products. For instance, Huawei and Apple are both the best smartphone sellers in the world who always highlight their most innovative technologies and the latest functions of their devices in their advertisements. These commercial ads equip the public with a more well-rounded perspective on mobile devices, as well as give buyers opportunities to compare and analyze

the same products of different brands. In addition, advertisements also keep people well informed about end-of-season sales or promotional campaigns where they can buy items with discounted prices.

Furthermore, the other objective of advertising is to promote effective communication between companies and customers. When a new product is about to be introduced to the market, companies create and launch impressive and memorable promotional campaigns that can make the product become more recognized and identified. All those people who have been informed about the advantages of the products could become potential buyers and are more likely to choose the brand when they are shopping. Not only that, advertising also helps maintain the demand for existing products and services. For example, as a well-known and established brand, the marketing strategy of Coca-Cola is to use reminder advertising to maintain its position in the market.

To conclude, advertising plays an important role in society. As long as being used wisely, it is beneficial to both customers and advertisers.