Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss

of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more

important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, major environmental issues has become the main concern for many people. Some people believe that the emphasis should be on the protection of the endangered species, others believe that the focus should be on more important environmental issues. Both side of this argument will be analyzed before a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

Firstly, a group of people believe that there are certain species that would extinct in the future and it is a right of the future generation to have them protected and thrive. For example, the Panda, it is a very rare species of bears and it is on the list of highly protected animal, it is found mainly on China. If this species extincted , our children will only have pictures of them. Thus, our efforts should focus on the protection of such animals, their extinction will be a great loss to the mankind.

On the other hand, some people believe that we should focus on more important environmental issues that has a larger impact on the humanity. As per the American scientist magazine, it is believed that global warming will be the major risk for many countries in the next decade. The increase of the global temperature will affect the agriculture and the water supplies. Many countries will be ravaged by drought and famine. Therefore, the efforts should be focusing on the reduction of the green gas effects and to decrease the Carbon dioxide emissions.

In summary, both sides of the arguments are supported by many people. In my opinion, I believe that the global warming will not only affect the mankind but also the animals in the different parts of the world. While we should continue to decrease the CO2 emissions, the protection program of endangered animals should still be on our agenda.