Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss
of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more
important environmental problems.
Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.
Some people consider that the loss of individual species of plants and animals is the
main environmental problem of our time. Attempts to preserve rare or dying species
are carried out in zoos or other specialist plant and animal facilities, through breeding
programmes, preservation orders and other forms of protection and there was genuine
sadness among many when the last surviving white rhino died earlier this year.
Survival of the fittest is nature's way of ruthlessly allowing weaker specimens to die
out, although mankind has also contributed to falling animal numbers through hunting
and poaching. However, whether saving individual species should be the main focus
of environmental protection is debatable. Climate change and excessive use of plastic
are just two other major problems that deserve our attention.
The evidence of climate change is there for us all to see: rising sea levels and
associated flooding with the loss of homes at low land levels are becoming more
frequent. Many countries and island communities are now calling for urgent action to
delay, halt or even reverse the process, although if we believe the experts, reversal is
impossible. Habitable areas are gradually shrinking, often for some of the poorest
groups of people, but there seems to be little obvious action taking place. If the major
contributors to climate change will not support the reduction of greenhouse gases,
there is little hope for the future.
Naturalists have also begun to expose the serious problems arising from discarded
plastic waste. Birds and animals can die gruesome deaths through being trapped
or caught up in plastic bags or ropes, while the long process required for these
plastics to decay means that they remain a threat for many years to come. Worse,
there is now beginning to be evidence of sea creatures ingesting smaller globules of
disintegrating plastic, which harms them and all the other creatures in their particular
food chain.
The loss of particular species, both flora and fauna, is cause for regret, but I do not
agree that they are the most important environmental problems these days. If climate
change and damage from plastic continue, there will be less land and less food for
everyone, including plants and animals.