Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for

a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Many people prefer to work on their own rather than work as emplyees under the supervison of others in a company. Free lancers become more popular than ever before. While some people prefer to work as a self emplyed , Others find it inconvenient to work for themselves. Both views will be discussed and relevant examples will be provided.

On the one hand, those who prefer to have their own work, believe it gives them better control on their time. For example, an emplyee will have a fixed 9 hours shift daily, however, free lancers will have more flexible working hours. In addition, the salaried person will have his salary as his only source of monthly income , while self emplyed person can have higher income since he will be the owner of the work. Besides, there is no age restriction for the free lancer unlike the salaried person that could retire at the his sixitees.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks of having one’s own work. Firstly, the monthly income is variable, it goes up and down with the market unlike having a fixed monthly salary. Secondly, being the owner of the work meaning that you will be busy all the time manging and planning your work. For example, you can find an emplyee who works for 9 hours a day and his shift ends at 5 PM, while there is a lawyer, who has his own office for legal affairs, his phone never stop ringing all day.

It is obvious that both groups of people have their own reasons for their choice. Those who prefer to be more independant , choose to work as self emplyed, while others prefer a predfined daily work schedule. It is recommened that one should consider his own abilities and prefernces before making his decision.