Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is some voice claiming that the primary issue of the current environment is the extinction of specific species. Nobody can deny that this does mean a lot to human beings, however, it is by no means the only problem that we should care about, as we will see.

On the one hand, it may appear clear that the extinction of creature holds key of the environmental stability. Those loss exerts negative impacts on food chains, leading to even more fierce environmental problems which can be much more difficult to tackle. For instance, the extinction of preys means a loss of food for other species, which will end up with a dwindling number of those species in the near future as well. Furthermore, loss of particular type of creatures reduces the diversity of species in their habitats. To be more specific, they might be ruined easily than before and it takes them more time to recover from damages such as fire or flood.

On the other hand, we have to ask whether this is the only problem we should focus on. Global warming is often concerned in this case, and if we neglected this severe problem, it is inevitable that individuals would suffer from disasters caused by this environmental issue such as heavy rain or typhoon. What is more is that, people are expected to live in a place without air pollution as well, and governments should take that into account too, health problems assosiated with citizens' lungs or throats may be the consequences. Equally, it seem that those issues I mentioned above can in some cases trigger environmental diasters.

To conclude, it appears that, while creatures' extinction is fairly essential for our environment protection, there are many other factors we should focus on when cosider about environmental problems too.