In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nobody can deny that Internet is developing in a fairly rapid pace that netizens could get access to countless information via it. However, this by no means indicates that people would not pay for printed products due to those free readings online in the future, as we will see.

On the one hand, it is true that Internet do prompt several changes in individual’s reading preference. For instance, some employees tend to read novels on their smart phones during commutes, for phones are much more convenient and lighter than books. Moreover, it can be manifestly seen that faster speed could be shown when there is a need for someone to search for exact information, using the help of strong search engines such as Google. However, it does not mean that people would not pay for those materials. As far as I am concerned, there is a tendency that people subscribe to those novel writers, and producers of those search engines would definitely earn from people’s search, consequently, the reason why people switch to online reading is not about the price.

On the other hand, there do exist key features which make printed newspapers and books irreplaceable. To begin with, if citizens stop purchasing them, a large amount of people, such as book sellers or librarians, will face the risk of redundancy, leading to a more complicated problem for authorities to tackle with. Additionally, its own design shows a value of collection. To be more specific, some book producers have the delicate cover designed with professional illustrators involved. What is more is that, some people enjoy making marks on their own books or newspapers, which cannot be finished on screens.

To sum up, we can arrive at an undeniable conclusion that although specific group of people might read online, printed productions do have several merits making them survive in the Internet era in the future.