Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a voice saying that people can find advertisements everywhere so that we are expected to pay less attention to them. While I believe nobody can deny that advertisements are of paramount importance for boosting sales, as we will see.

On the one hand, it is true that advertising is fairly common in our workplace as well as in our residential area. For instance, jingles can be heard in elevators, posters might be found on buses or undergrounds, etc. When netizens watch video clips online, there are advertisements showing at the pause. Sometimes people remember those lyrics or slogans unconsciously, since they have been repeated over time, and if they need to purchase commodities, they would definitely switch to the familiar brands appeared in advertisements. In that case, everyone should by no means ignore the enormous impact given by advertisements.

On the other hand, it can be manifestly seen that advertising do play a significant role in improving sales. Take jingles as an example, advertising songs usually repeat their lines again and again, which leads to a fact that reciting those promotional words could be extremely easy for consumers. As a result, when confronted with choices between various products, individuals will show the tendency of taking those with successful commercial advertisements they remembered. What is more is that, advertisers are good users of promotional tactics such as comparisons, if they stress their products’ merits by comparing them with their counterparts’ presumably, there will definitely be a drop of other brands’ sales in the near future.

To conclude, we can arrive at an undeniable conclusion that though advertisements can be seen everywhere in our daily life, it does not mean that we should neglect the importance and its positive influence of boosting sales for enterprises.