Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nobody can deny that music is of paramount importance for gathering individuals from diverse culture or age groups. However, it is by no means clear that music is the only way to achieve that, as we will see.

On the one hand, we should confess that music do exerts positive influence on developing harmony among us. For instance, in the 2008 Olympic Game’s opening ceremony, as the song named ‘You and Me’ goes ‘we are family’, which made audiences across the world feel like we are living in one Earth village. Those lyrics and rhymes have already shown the power of music, leading to an absence of problems such as discrimination. Furthermore, interests of music may not show too much variation, since we can manifestly see sheer volume of singles, albums, singers or bands, such as Beatles, win world-wide acceptance.

On the other hand, advocates should not neglect other approaches contributed to this issue, for example, books. Since a large amount of influential books or IP might obtain reputation globally, for instance, ‘Harry Potter’ written by J.K.Rowling. In addition, presumably, no matter how old a person is, they have definitely heard about that book. Moreover, the opinion offered in books could be welcomed easily beyond specific linguistic cultures as well, is there any teenager who do not want to experience such kind of magical world in person? In order to fit into different type of people, all they need to do is to talking about the plots from the book they loved, then one thing will lead to another naturally.

To sum up, we can arrive at an undeniable conclusion that although music has the ability to narrow the gap between different aged people coming from various culture, we should never claim that it is the only method to form people together.