Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of animals and plants. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

As the environmental quality is worsened of late, the causes of this negative development have always been a topic of public interest. People are divided over whether the disappearance of types of flora and fauna is the major issue or there are more imperative ecological concerns worth considering. While both viewpoints are justifiable, I personally lean towards the latter in light of the following reasons.

On the one hand, there are a couple of reasons accounting for the importance of animals and plants in daily life. Firstly, given the inextricable relationships between the human race and animals, it is absurd to downplay the disappearance of a specific animal. For example, pollinating animals such as bumblebees play the main role in pollinating and spreading the seeds of trees. Without them, many repercussions will be bred regarding agriculture production and farmers’ income. Secondly, plants’ photosynthesis helps produce oxygen which is the main source of life for many living creatures on Earth including humans. It is estimated that approximately 258 metric tonnes of carbon dioxide were converted to oxygen annually. Because of this, it is without a doubt that the fewer plants exist, the worse our air quality is.

On the other hand, advocates of the view in which other environmental problems are more urgent have their own rights. Specifically, the frequency of natural catastrophes is on the increase as a result of climate change. This may adversely affect the lives of humans, as well as their belongings. Moreover, the enormous energy consumption in production is also a major contributor to environmental problems. In fact, massive exhaust emissions released from the combustion of fossil fuels have catastrophically exacerbated air pollution. When the air pollution is poor enough, medical malady especially respiratory-related is unavoidable.

To conclude, despite the merits brought about by the presence of animals and plants, I can affirm that other environmental issues such as climate change and colossal exhausted fumes released are of greater concern due to their incomparable impact on humankind.