Some people say that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for the government to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is true that the quantity of recycled domestic waste is inadequate in many parts of the world. Therefore, a school of thought holds that the authority should force people to recycle their household refuse. While this thinking is somewhat justifiable, I personally lean towards the viewpoint of enacting a law is not the only way to promote recycling.

There are many compelling reasons why some people subscribe to the view that making recycling compulsory will encourage people to recycle. In light of the geographical distance between residential areas and recycling plants, many families find it time-consuming and annoying to recycle their trash on a daily basis. This is not to mention the difficulty when it comes to separating recyclable waste from disposable ones. By making recycling a legal obligation, the government could punish people who are failed to adhere to this law, ranging from small fines to colossal economical fines. This measure would motivate people to obey the new regulation and deliberately engage in the process to avoid any legal punishments.

However, I believe that there are more actions that government could do than simply enacting a recycling law. In fact, the lack of knowledge and awareness about the environmental impact of household waste is the primary reason for the insignificant amount of recycling actions. Rather than punishing people, it would be more effective if the governing bodies put education at the center of this campaign. For instance, children and adults could be taught about recycling and the repercussion of domestic rubbish without being processed for the environment in school and through the media. Such an effort could encourage people to make a habit of recycling in pursuit of a clean and trash-free environment, without incurring discontent and nuisance among the masses when compared to the punishments.

To conclude, while the potential benefit of enforcing a law seems to make it a good idea, I can affirm that educating people about the benefits of recycling and the consequences of household rubbish would be more suitable.