Nowadays, people depend on technology in their free time.

The modern world has witnessed a surging reliance on electronic devices in leisure times. I believe this propensity is associated with intense negativity, and this essay will show how the technology’s dependency is a negative development.

The first reason to account for the negativity of this phenomenon is that it plunges the masses into a sedentary lifestyle. There is no denying that the amount of physical movement involves in the use of technology is relatively low. Moreover, although some of them realize this consequence, they are still unwilling to do exercises as they can not resist the allure of social media applications. In light of this, people who are physically passive would find it tough to sustain their fitness and health levels. It is evident that the escalating usage of modern devices is synonymous with the prevalence of people who suffer physical-related health issues.

Moreover, as people become more and more dependent on technology in their free time, they would incur the deterioration of social relationships. People who allocate the majority of their leisure time to technology often find themselves in socially isolated circumstances whenever they meet others. Such isolation breeds the repercussion that people gradually withdraw from social situations and give up on all socializing efforts. This practice directly affects their’s relationship qualities which spells trouble for their mental health.

To conclude, depending on technology for entertainment in leisure time is not a positive development; in fact, it leads people to an unhealthy lifestyle and takes a heavy toll on human social relationships and mental health.