Some people say that modern buildings are ugly and are ruining our towns and cities, especially when these buildings are very different from those around them. Others say that they add variety and interest.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

These days, many spectacular buildings are built which are concern of people in worldwide. Some people state that these buildings will damage cities’ image, others believe that they help towns take a lot of advantages. I mainly agree with diversity of large structures.

One reason for this is that building gigantic constructions is vitally important in promoting economic development. These structures not only revive the impression of a country on a global scale by creating all shapes and sizes, they also can be good for tourism. This means that they advance national and international travels which bring an abundance of benefits for a global village. For instance, the Eiffel Tower is one of the most popular tourist destinations in France, and most people in the world want to take advantage of once-in-a-lifetime opportunities to appreciate it. Furthermore, France’s government can earn lots of money from the Eiffel Tower such as hotel business, restaurants, etc. As a result, it brings revenue to the city.

This is not to say that eye- catching buildings are not good in all aspects. In fact, building one erection will destroy a part of nature and culture. Native culture changes are essential problems for some people, they might loose the city's spirit which symbolizes the spirit of indigenous people because of visitors who come from different countries. Yet, the profit of these constructions are much more than the short-coming of that.

To sum up, striking and massive constructions are able to attract tourists so that they increase a higher standard life of inhabitants, and state-owned organisation can enjoy long-term benefits. Meanwhile, we should not overlook these buildings’ negative effects.