Today food travels from thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Some people
say that it would be better for the economy and environment if people ate food produced
from local farmers.
In the contemporary world, food travels long distances before reaching purchasers, and it is therefore
believed that consuming locally grown food would bring about many economic and
environmental benefits. Albeit some advantages, I believe that the disadvantages of this
idea would be more significant.
Consuming food growing in local areas is advantageous in several ways. First and foremost, when a product is
purchased and consumed locally, the local economy greatly benefits. More income will be
generated for those involved in the food’s production, including farmers and growers, which
will, in turn, enhance their standards of living. Eating locally grown food can also play a crucial role
in helping to protect the environment. The transportation of food around the world greatly
contributes to global warming due to the large amount of carbon emissions produced during
the process. Eating locally grown produce will help to reduce the distance that food travels,
helping to reduce the negative effects of carbon emissions which are released from vehicles
during transport.
In spite of the aforementioned benefits, I personally feel that the drawbacks need to be
considered more carefully. For example, if non-locally grown foods are purchased less often
on the market, local people will, therefore, have fewer opportunities to experience specialties
and healthy products from other regions. Furthermore, if local foods become the more
dominant products, price manipulation by local merchants can occur. Several food sellers
will make use of this opportunity to increase prices to control the market in the long term. It
will be difficult for people, especially lower-income households, to buy essential foods for
themselves, causing adverse impacts on their health.
In conclusion, I hold the belief that local food consumption, despite having economic and environmental merits, does more harm than good to people’s culinary experiences and local markets.