It is said that modern technological advancements have helped people do the shopping with ease. While there are some drawbacks of this development, I would argue that the modern technology brings more positive effects on shopping.

On the one hand, online shopping has posed higher risks of fraud than face-to-face transaction. Firstly, merchants may intentionally deliver faulty products to consumers, which may not work properly or be different from the sample items pictured on the shopping sites. This problem may result from a lack of thorough inspection of the ordered items. Secondly, personal information would be leaked out when people carry out transaction over the Internet. Hackers may break into seller’s websites in order to steal consumer details for illegal purposes. This has made identity theft a matter of concern to consumers doing shopping online.

On the other hand, I believe that modern technology provides great convenience to shoppers in many ways. Obviously, online selling services give people chances to shop from their homes with help of Internet-connected devices, instead of going out for shopping. So, long distance could not prevent those who live in rural area to purchase a latest gadget available in city center only or even abroad. Also, there are a wide range of choices open to consumers searching for the same item’s availability. In particular, search engines would create a list comprising products of interest with detailed information and price from different vendors. Consumers then can make final decision after thoroughly making comparison between items.

In conclusion, although disadvantages of applying technological advances to shopping should be considered seriously, I am convinced that online shopping has been certainly an brilliant technological invention nowadays because of its convenience above.