In many countries, the number of animals and plants is declining. Why do you think it is happening? How to solve this issue?

It is true that many countries have experienced the falling number of various animal and plant species. Several reasons can be identified and a number of solutions should be implemented by the government to tackle the problem.

There are two main reasons behind this phenomenon. Firstly, it seems that more and more people cut down trees to make way for farming spaces. This might lead to habitat loss of some terrestrial animal species. As a result, some animals cannot find anywhere else to live, while others find it difficult to adapt to a new environment. Secondly, the increase of water pollution currently causes severe damage to many sea creatures and plants as well. This pollution might result from residential and industrial raw sewage discharged directly into the sea. In other words, human activities can push many species to the verge of extinction soon.

However, there are some measures that could be adopted to try to protect some species from declining. The first solution would be the introduction of some strict ban on illegal activities such as over-logging or dumping untreated sewage into the sea. Those would then act as a deterrent to those who are going to destroy the natural habitats. The second solution would be running a number of environmental awareness campaigns in order to arouse people’s interest in protecting endangered animals and plants. Furthermore, the local council should encourage residents to plant trees as much as possible.

In conclusion, although the falling number of animals and plants occurs for many reasons, effective steps can be taken to reverse this trend.