The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

On these days, social media has gradually become a useful tool in most areas of life. While I accept this trend would bring great benefits, I would argue that it could not be comparable to in-person meetings.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the use of social media has changed the world in positive ways. From the perspective of communication, people might easily keep in touch with their friends or relatives with the help of a range of Internet platforms despite the long distance between them. Thus, it might facilitate maintaining strong relationship over time. In regard to business, social media is considered as an effective way of increasing brand visibility. Any companies could create content on their official Facebook pages, it would probably attract attention of potential customers.

On the other hand, I believe that this trend has some notable disadvantages that make it impossible to replace face-to-face interaction. Firstly, those who spend a lot of time using social media platforms would be unable to develop some communication skills. In particular, when speaking directly, people might face difficulty either reading the meaning of someone’s face expression or using body languages in appropriate context, which are considered distinctive features of face-to-face interaction. Secondly, it is important to note that social media is a virtual world, so some people might take advantage of this to cheat each other. In fact, there are currently an increasing number of Facebook users reporting being charged with credit-card fraud to police.

In conclusion, it seems to me that face-to-face interaction would probably be an indispensable part in our life, although the using of social media, along with the advance in technology, also proves to be a positive development.