Some people say that modern technology has made shopping today easier,

while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is true that some people believe that shopping is easier today than ever before, thanks to modern technology. While this is certainly the case in some respects, I agree with those who find the modern high-tech shopping experience more impersonal and stressful.

On the one hand, advances in technology have transformed and facilitated shopping in the developed world. In terms of the internet, online shopping has grown in popularity,and some experts believe that this trend is still in its infancy. Certainly, ordering goods online from the comfort of your own home saves time and effort. Those trips to the shops,

when traffic grinds to a halt or shoppers find themselves caught in rush hour traffic jams, have been superseded by a click of a mouse. Even inside a supermarket, modern

technology makes shopping easier, with self-service checkouts and payment using a smart card.

On the other hand, despite the disappearance of many traditional ways of life, some old shopping habits have not died out. Firstly, many of the older generation are slower to embrace change. They find that the personal service available in shops makes shopping an easier and more pleasant experience, whereas technology may be confusing and

discourages real interaction. Secondly, old ways of shopping continue to thrive because some people prefer to see and touch the goods which they buy. For example, although

technology provides images of products for sale, many shoppers prefer to try on clothes or shoes or to physically handle fruit or vegetables before choosing.

In conclusion, while technology has made shopping quicker and easier in the opinion of some people, I would argue that it makes shopping harder because it cannot offer personal

service or the physical opportunity to browse.