The combination of reliable, high-speed internet and continual technological innovation means that children’s study options are no longer limited to old-style classrooms. These developments have led some to question whether children still need to attend schools, arguing that learning online is possibly preferable. Not surprisingly, there are many who disagree. While there are reasons why learning online might be feasible, I believe there can be no substitute for the face-to-face contact afforded by school-based learning.

Online learning offers an efficient and high-tech solution to education. Internet speeds have increased, and online video conferencing platforms now provide improved functionality. Studying in virtual classrooms thus seems a viable alternative to face-to-face learning. With online learning, children have immediate access to an almost infinite range of resources. Wider access to sources beyond the classroom is particularly beneficial for children in

remote areas.

However, for various reasons I believe it is essential for children to continue their education in physical school environments. Classroom learning and interactions with teachers provide students with varied and complex opportunities for development. Student-centred learning is fostered as teachers can respond spontaneously to the individual needs of their students. Vital communication and negotiation skills can be developed during both classroom learning and break-time interactions. Teachers also receive immediate feedback on student progress, based on both verbal and non-verbal cues. This kind of subtle input is not always accessible in online learning contexts.

Although technology offers valuable support to the learning process, school-based learning offers so much more in terms of the development of social skills and the provision of immediate feedback loops within the learning process. As a result, learning in schools remains an important and irreplaceable feature of education.