Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a controversy about what incentive people to learn a new language. One school of thought affirm that the exclusive purpose of doing so is to be able to work and travel abroad. While others firmly believe that the reasons can be endless. In my opinion, while I understand and endorse the last statement, I think that the main motivational trigger for learning a new language is to be more competitive at a professional level.

On one hand, many people think that there are only two single reasons to study and master a new language, to visit and work in other countries. Knowing to speak a foreign language enable people to intensify their tourist experience, since they are able to understand and be understood local people. Moreover, having a new language among others professional skills, make easier the path to find a job outside of you own country.

On the other hand, others claim that the underlies causes that push people to initiate studies on a new language could be uncountable. For instance, a young Spanish adult who loves american singers (Lady Gaga), could want to learn the Shakespeare's tongue just for the only reason to recite English songs. So, the reasons could be vary in numbers and purposes, namely, acquire a new skill, curiosity, an inner desire to speak in a different language, etc. However this true, I firmly believe, based on my experience, that the essential motivation that move many people to learn a foreign language is competitiveness. In other words, be able to speak more than one language is a valuable and precious job skill, one is highly requested for many employers.

To sum up, the motivational roots for learning a new language can be infinite in numbers, and are not limited to a couple (explore or work abroad); however, there is no doubt that be knowledgeable in languages, two or more, make more attractive job seekers for prospective employers.