Education is not a luxury, but a basic human right and as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth.

Do you agree or disagree?

A person is incomplete if her mind is empty of knowledge, those needed to make out sense of the world. That is why, today, it is widespread argued that education must be free for anyone regardless her social status. I outline and endorse this thinking because being a schooled person has social and individual advantages.

First, there is no discussion on the fact that the more educated a society is, the more advanced and strong its economy would be. The building blocks of a competitive economy definitely are its citizens, those who have been educated in a wide range of fundamental matters (law, politics, financial and the like), able to understand how the complex economic and political system works. Thus, offering free of charge education to the community is an long-term investment, which help to push forward the country's economy resulting in an increase of its GDP (Growth Domestic Product). In Canada, for instance, where the education at all levels is free, the GDP is the highest of North America.

Secondly, it is clear that to reach a fulfillment stage in life all people should attend at least the secondary school. Certain skills such as creativity, artistic or musical ear are only developed and mastered if people attend the school. So, if there is no fee to be educated in such important areas, everyone would be clearly happier and fulfilled, making their life enjoyable and with a purpose. As well as, being a educated person make people less vulnerable, so it would be difficult to manipulate or persuade them in unequal scenarios such as singing a loan agreement at the bank, for example.

To sum up, the act of acquired essential education should be free for all people worldwide. It represents an intrinsic part of human being that brings great benefits not only for the whole community but also to each individual who has the gift to receive education.