Young people today are better qualified than they were in the past. Some people argue that this is because competition for jobs is greater than it used to be . Others say that people only continue their education because the opportunities exist for them to do so.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, the high professional qualification amongst youngsters, in comparison with the past, is exponentially better, which raises the question of why this is happening. One school of thought says that competitiveness in the job market is higher, while others state that the education have been democratized, so anyone has access to it. I believe that beside the universal right of education, the social recognition for academic attainment is the why many young people are extremely qualified.

On one hand, many think that there is a wild and ferocious competition to obtain one of the few job positions available. New job seekers have not only fight for that work opportunity, but also compete against other skilled, expert and high educated competitors. Moreover, today the basic job requirements or qualification are even tougher, and has been multiplied. For example, an administrative assistant, position that can be considered as low one, not only need to type 40 words per minute, but also have to know about business or tax law, accounting principles, and all knowledge related with an office management. That is why, many young people decide (or push by this overwhelming reality) to take various academic courses, careers or post-graduation programs to be ready to for the job market.

On the other hand, having formal education has become both a right and an obligation. In other words, anyone has the opportunity to have a diploma, degree or even a PhD as the access to be schooled is either free -in many countries worldwide, or anyone can afford a student loan to cover the fees, the bank institutions has reduced their paperwork and the interest rate is relatively low. What is more, people feel incomplete or flawed if they do not have certain education levels. This is particularly true among young adults, who bear a great pressure to be recognized or accepted in society, and the fact of having an astonishing, sometimes enviously, professional qualification become the way to get that recognition. Being a physician with a cardiologist vascular specialization without doubt it would be more compelling and interesting that just be a family doctor, for instance.

To sum up, although it is true that to find a job has become an unstoppable race in which the participants are more knowledgeable than even before, it is also true that an ever increasing number of young people just continue on studying during years because being educated is a right, affordable and is an intrinsic part of a persona.