Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often believed that the primary purpose of studying a foreign langauge is travelling to or working abroad. However, other thinks that there are other reasons. In my opinion, aside from travel or work-related purposes, learning a new language enables someone to learn and understand the culture and history of other country.

On the one hand, some people argue that the main objective of learning a foreign language is to give them a head start when they tour to a new place. Moving around in a completely strange place is quite frustrating especially when the locals do not speak the universal language, which is English. If visitors are able to communicated with the local people using some basic Spanish, for instance, touring around will be more comfortable and safer. Moreover, If a person plans to work and live abroad, he should have a formal education of the language used in that specific country. This will ensure a greater opportunity in landing a decent job. In addition to that, speaking like locals only proves that you are willing to embrace their nation, thus, gaining great trust amongst the people.

On the other hand, others believed that there are far more reasons in studying a foreign language. Firstly, learning a language of other country provides an interesting way to understand their culture. By doing this, It opens the mind of non-native speaker to be respectful and accepting into the reasons of their unique traditions. Secondly, It paves way to create networks and meet new friends. Other people purposely study a specific language because they want to be accepted in a certain group.

In conclusion, although learning a new language may benefit those who are travelling or working abroad, In my opinion, it is not limited to that purpose as it also leads to cultural understanding and extending networks.