In many cities, many people are living in large apartment blocks. Does this accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages?

Living in condominiums has become a trend in many cities around the world. I believe, that although there are benefits, the drawbacks is more as residents are highly risk to fire incidents and the place is not conducive for growing family.

One of the main advantages of tenants residing in high rise apartment is that there is a landlord. The caretaker id responsible for the repairs and maintenance of the unit. This saves the individual ampule amount of time searching and contacting laborers to fix a leaking faucet or broken window. Another benefit is that people can easily downsize when budget is insufficient. Apartment rent varies depending on its location and square area, so, tenants, have a choice to move in a smaller or higher floors if they are financially challenge. In addition to that, young professionals, who are starting their careers in the city may find it economical to stay in sharing apartments.

On the other hand, there are also disadvantages in this living condition. Firstly, the people are at greater risk to fire accidents and injuries. A recent news in CNN involves a high condominiums swallowed by fire affecting more than 100 families with reported deaths. Secondly, the space in each unit is not enough for a family of three or more. There is a less space to move around, exercise or play and family members are often left irritated if their personal space is constantly invaded. Lastly, rules and regulations in the building comprises of long list that needs compliance to avoid unnecessary termination of contract.

In conclusion, regardless of the benefits, the drawbacks of living in high-rise apartments can be devastating in the event of fire incidents as well as in the mental health of the family members.