Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believed that the focus of government spending should be on building railways and not on roads. Although railways provide faster transportation for the commuters, I disagree that the people's taxes should be spend mainly on railways as roads are equally important in improving the life of the people.

There are some who hold the view that railways construction are more beneficial for the people and I disagree. Firstly, building railways are costly and developing counties might not be able to afford to purchase new equipments and machineries. more often than not, it will lead to another debt or huge loans in the world bank. Secondly, railways is only beneficial to the people living in the city In other words, those people living in the provinces will not be able to use the train frequently, but they have to contribute the same amount if money for its construction. Lastly, constructing railways means more houses and trees will be s=demolished and cut-down to make way for this new infrastructure.

On the other hand, improving main roads for safe and smooth travel of commuters should be the priority of the government. These main roads not only cater vehicles but thousands of trucks that brings goods and oil in different cities around the country. by building new roads and expressway, this will ensure faster transport of basic necessities of people such as food and clothing.

In conclusion, I belive that the local government should prioritize building more safe roads for all the citizens to enjoy and not on railways.