Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The necessity of learning an additional language frequently generates a heated debate with some claim that the primary reason to do so is the capability to travel for both work and pleasure, while others argue that there are more tangible benefits. In my personal opinion, I completely agree with the latter assertion. This essay will first demonstrate that people who know more than their mother tongue could have greater job opportunities, followed by an analysis of how this could help the learner to enhance his knowledge about different cultures.

There is an argument of justification that the statement to wit; there has been a growing tendency to learn a new language because people have the hope to move to other countries in search of better job opportunities. The rationale behind this is that a vast majority from developing countries want to find happiness in developed nations, as big countries would provide better working terms and salaries due to the high living standard there. According to the PEW Center, 55% of Vietnamese agreed that they want to study English to work in countries such as America or Australia.

Apart from the practical concerns expressed above, it is also conceded that a language should not be learned for working or traveling purposes only but also it is vital to consider the chance to broaden the learner's mind about different cultures around the world. This borne by the fact that a language is the best reflection of the culture that goes with it and hence, people could have better understand and accept cultural differences. The Times recently reported that bilanguage children tend to outperform most of their friends at History.

Subsequently, weighing all the aforementioned, it can be safely stated it is beneficial for people to learn an additional language because it not only helps them to work or to travel in a foreign country but also we could broaden our knowledge about the beauty of a different culture.