Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The purpose of learning an additional language frequently generates a heated debate with some claim that the primary reason for this is to travel or work in a foreign country, while others argue that there are more merits to come. In my personal opinion, I completely agree with the latter assertion. This essay will first demonstrate that people study a foreign language because they are in search of better job opportunities overseas, followed by how this could help people enhance their knowledge about different cultures.

There is an argument of justification that the statement to wit; there are more people want to be fluent in an additional language because they could have greater job opportunities overseas. The rationale behind this is that there are many people from developing countries want to find happiness in developed nations, as big countries would provide better working terms and higher salary due to the high living standard there. According to the PEW Center, 55% of Vietnamese agreed that they want to study English to find jobs in countries such as America or Australia.

Apart from the practical concerns expressed above, it is also conceded that the learner should not only learning a new language besides the native tongue for working or traveling purposes but also to broaden his mind about different cultures around the world. This borne by the fact that a language is the best reflection of the culture that goes with it and hence, people could have better understand and accept cultural differences. The Times recently reported that children who know from two languages tend to outperform most of their friends at History.

Subsequently, weighing all the aforementioned, it can be safely stated it is beneficial for people to learn an additional language because it not only helps them to have better job opportunities or to travel in a foreign country but also broaden our knowledge about the beauty of cultures around the world.