Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

There has been a growing tendency for advertising. There are both liabilities and utilities to this, though overall, it is a welcome development. This essay will highlight the contribution to the growth of the economy as the biggest advantage of commercial film, followed by an analysis of the primary disadvantage, namely how it could lead to an increasingly materialistic society, is not valid.

From an economic point of view, a booming advertising industry brings a myriad of merits. A genuinely prominent claim to deliberate is that the lager this industry is, the lower unemployment rates would be. The rationale behind this is that advertising is a creative industry that employs many people, stems from logo designer to commercial film director, and hence, without advertisements, they would be jobless. The Times recently reported that advertising is the second largest industry in Korea. What further amplifies the argument expressed above is that the development of advertisements leads to a better living standard. This borne by the fact that by frequently watching advertisements through the internet or on television, people could aware of the choices that they have, therefore, they could compare different products on sale and choose an item at the most reasonable price. According to the PEW Center, 56% of Vietnamese people agreed that advertisements inform them about a greater array of selections.

A separate school of thought, however, suggests that the rise in the number of advertisements could lead to an increasingly materialistic society; however, this is not accurate. A logical justification for this is that advertisements frequently use celebrities to promote brand images and associate those with higher status, thus, people are persuaded that buying a product would make them feel happier. Yet, despite this fact, such is still inferior to the advantage discussed.

Subsequently, weighing all the aforementioned, it can be safely stated that the bombard of advertisements can be advantageous to the economy as it helps people approach a better range of options and reduce unemployment rates and although it can sometimes be a contributing factor to a materialistic society, it is a very crucial part in the growth of economic.