Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

In the contemporary world, traffic congestion is a principal problem facing big cities. This essay will first suggest promoting work from home model and charging a congestion fee as viable solutions.

The culprit for this is that there has been a growing tendency for people dwelling in the urban areas to work in major cities and hence, the number of private vehicles has significantly increased here. Nonetheless, it requires no tedious analysis to reminisce that to rectify this phenomenon; every car should be charged a congestion fee when they want to get into the city center. Hopefully, this deters them from driving to work and use public transportation. A classic case of which is London, where each driver has to pay 8 pounds for entrance.

Secondly, it is incumbent upon authority to provide feasible ameliorate by promoting work from home model. Realistically, the advance in technology has made it possible for employees to work effectively even from their private space. For instance, people could keep their team working together through an app called Zoom, where they can start video calls right from their room. This may, in effect, reduce car usage in the city center. As mirrored by a recent public awareness campaign in Vietnam that encourage more people to become telecommute and this, result in a drastic improvement.

Subsequently, weighing all the aforementioned, it can now safely stated that this disturbing situation can be tackled by charging drivers who want to enter the city center and by encouraging people to become a telecommuter. It is predicted that more and more major cities will be forced to take this measure to curtail this dilemma.