Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

In the contemporary world, traffic congestion is a principal problem facing many major cities. This essay will suggest that promoting work from home model and charging a congestion fee are viable solutions.

It requires no tedious analysis to learn that to rectify this phenomenon; every car should be charged a congestion fee when they want to get into the city center. This may, in effect, either deter them from driving to this area or encourage them to use public transportation such as buses and trains for a lower cost. A classic case of which is London by virtue of their success in curtailing this social evil after charging 8 pounds per car for entrance from 2018.

Besides that, it is incumbent upon the government to provide feasible ameliorate by encouraging people to work as a telecommute. Ever-evolving technologies such as Zoom, Skype and Hangouts, could help people to work together by starting video calls right from their room, thereby reducing car use for the work commute. As mirrored by a recent public awareness campaign in Hanoi that promotes work from home model and this, result in a drastic improvement.

Subsequently, weighing all the aforementioned, it can now safely stated that major cities that prone to congestion can tackle this phenomenon by charging drivers who want to enter the city center and by encouraging more people to become a telecommuter. In the distance future, it is predicted that more and more major cities will be forced to take such measures to curtail this dilemma.