Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

Without a shadow of a doubt, a person with the capability to be fluent in a foreign language has a competitive advantage to others. Some authorities claim that children should study an additional language at primary schools instead of secondary schools. There are both liabilities and utilities to this as will be explained, though overall, it is incontrovertible that the positive aspects outweigh the problems. This essay will first demonstrate that the sooner a child learns a second language, the more likely they could master it in adulthood and enhance overall performance at school as the biggest advantages, followed by how the primary disadvantage, namely confusion with their native tongue, is not valid.

What further amplifies corroborates the dominance ascendancy of the advantage over the disadvantage is that the sooner the youngsters learn a foreign language, the more time they would have to perfect their skills. Thus, they could master it in their adulthood. According to the PEW Center, 95% of people in Holland could speak English fluently because most of them studied it before 6 years old. Furthermore, this would enhance their cognitive abilities. In other words, children who learn a new language before secondary schools have higher opportunities outperform most of their peers. The Times recently reported that youngsters who learn an additional language before entering secondary school tend to have higher achievements in Math and History.

In the mid-immense of the disadvantage, the topic is not at all bereft of advantage foremost which is studying a foreign language at such a young age would make kids confuse with their native tongue. A logical justification for this is that some argue that as learning, a new language is difficult, and hence children would spend most of their time on it rather than their native one. However, there is no evidence to support this claim. As mirrored by a case of my friend who brought up speaking Chinese and Vietnamese but still better in both than most of his peers.

In gist, having considered both advantages and disadvantages, it is clear that that there are more benefits to this and that children who learn a new language before entering secondary schools could have a higher chance to master it when they grow up and brings significant impacts to their performance at other subjects. These merits clearly outweigh the flawed argument that this would make them confuse with their native languages.