Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

To travel or to work are the only reason why people should learn a foreign language, while others think that those are not the only reasons. It seems to see both of views and it likely something more than travel or live abroad.

On the one hand, foreign language as a functional brings the positive impact to communicate with others easily while traveling or working overseas. These people see the foreign language solely as media which help to know each other. For example, when a British young man come to China to work as a chef and the importance of language would show up. He could collaborate with others as a team while he can speak like a native.

On the other hand, it is not only about to work or to live in a foreign country, but also how people exchange the culture. Increasing of some technologies all over the world create the new command to deep understanding about other knowledge. For Instance, the booming of Korean culture generate some Indonesian teenager to learn about Korean language. From research which be done by Indonesian Korean Club in University of Indonesia said that 67 % teenager who love to watch Korean dramas will have a Korean class at the weekend. It shows their curiosity and really keen to understand about the Korean language while see the dramas.

In conclusion, the number of people learning a foreign language has increased dramatically. There are several reasons for this, while some of these are work or travel related, others are purely personal or recreational in nature.