Some people say that parents have the most important role in a child‘s development. However, others argue that other things like television or friends

have the most significant influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A society viewed as whether potential or not depends largely on the quality of young generations. So, in recent years, there are much debate that factors that have profound impact on children’s development are either the responsibility of their parents or their surrounding environment including television or friends. In this essay, the importance of each factor will be discussed clearly.

It is highly indisputable that parents who gave birth to their children play a decisive role in their growth. Particularly, from being a child to a real adult, children will be influenced strongly by their parents’ attitude and behavior that partly shape their future characteristics or widely, their lifestyle. What’s more, regarding children’s physical development, parents are those who equip their children with enough living necessities, good education and even entertainment. In some case, without the unconditional love of parents, children will have a tendency to be rude or less determined in their study or life.

Apart from the role of parents, some environmental factors like television and friends also have proved their importance to children’s thinking or behaving. Because children’s parents can not be able to stay with them all daytime, thus their understanding, to a certain degree, can be affected by the kind of their friends or the information source from television. For instance, it is stated by scientists that children can be likely to learn and imitate very rapidly what they watch without distinguishing whether or not it is correct. As a result, they will remake it as a daily habit and if their parents does not recognize it in time, it can penetrate deeply into their personality in a negative way.

To sum up, although parents are those who lay a solid foundation for the development of their children, but it is highly stated that the impact of television or friends as environmental factors should not be ignored to avoid leading their children to a improper and less efficient world.