Some people say that school children should be mainly taught about the literature( e.g fiction and poetry) of their own country because it is more important than that of other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is an ongoing controversy regarding whether it is superior for pupils to pursue courses relating to their mother tongue. Although I partly advocate this notion, I would align myself with the opinion that they also need to learn international literature to ensure a clear future and to be eligible to study in foreign schools.

On the one hand, a vast array of factors has convinced me to support the former perception. Firstly, studying the literature of their own nation plays such an integral part in encouraging pupils to love their country. This is because when attending literature courses, students are capable of gaining a deeper insight into the facets of their nation’s culture such as traditional costumes or activities. Therefore, they become more aware of their accountability in the development of their country. Furthermore, being taught about the literature of their own nation enables school children to get used to using their mother tongue effectively. To illustrate, in Vietnam, at many educational institutions, students are able to deepen their knowledge relating to some aspects of Vietnamese such as grammatical structures or vocabulary. It may lead to the fact that they can apply these lessons in their real life to interact with others.

On the other hand, there are a host of justifications persuading me to concede that studying other literature is quite fundamental. The first reason stems from the fact that in this modern civilization, children knowing other languages could have clear career paths in years to come. For example, currently, numerous prestigious organizations in Vietnam are inclined to use IELTS qualification as a criterion to recruit employees. Thereby, school juveniles knowing how to use lingual francas tend to be employed for high-paid occupations. Moreover, devoting more focus to other literatures would be quite useful for students who have a desire to study abroad. This could be perfectly exemplified by the fact that Vietnamese pupils are required to have TOEFT or IELTS certificates if they want to pursue courses in a great number of reputable universities in the world like Havard or Cambridge. Hence, getting accustomed to using the languages of other nations can help school juveniles to approach to better studying environment.

In conclusion, explicitly, it is indisputable that placing emphasis on the literature of their own country could have some auspicious effects on the future life of children; nevertheless, I want to affirm that it is necessary for them to allocate more endeavors to other languages. Besides that, from my perspective, schools ought to create a conducive environment that can foster the abilities of children in terms of using their mother tongue and other lingual francas.