Some people say that too much attention and too many resources are given in the protection of wild animals and birds. Do you agree or disagree about this opinion?
It is argued that protecting wild animals and birds is drawing/attracting too much
concern and too many resources of society. Personally, I totally agree with this
point of view.
There are two main reasons why I think people have paid too much attention to the
protection of animals. One reason is that many non-governmental organizations
have been established in order to protect animals all over the world. However, they
are too concerned about animal-related activities in many parts of the world. For
example, it is unreasonable that PETA, an animal-protecting (2) organization,
accused Katy Perry of using tigers and elephants in her own music video ‘Roar’
commercial purposes while she did not. Furthermore, news about wild animals can
be shared rapidly on the Internet. If a bear is imprisoned somewhere, this news will
be widespread on social networks such as Facebook on a large scale immediately.
In addition, people have also spent too many resources protecting wild birds.
Firstly, a great deal of money is required to carry out any project to protect wild
birds, in which infrastructure and research are the two most expensive. The more
difficult research to preserve the DNA of wild birds is, the more it costs. Secondly,
the expenditure for this protection is quite unnecessary to some extent. While funds
should be raised to improve the living standards in some regions, investment in
bird protection appears to be a waste of money.
In conclusion, it seems to me that both concern and resources are focused too much
on the protection of wild animals and birds in this modern world.