Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to.

How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments?

Give reasons your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience

Nowadays, tourism_a smokeless industry_ has contributed an integral part to many countries' economies. While it provides numerous benefits such as creating jobs, raising the financial source or promoting these countries' images, there were also several negative effects.

Firstly, due to the requirement of providing services and facilities for tourists, nature has been damaged and the tropics have been deforested. The more tourists there are, the more roads, hotels, shopping centres have been built up and the less natural areas and forests have been preserved. For example, in some seaside cities of Vietnam, there are many resorts and luxury hotel covering the coastline instead of attractive white sand and blue sea like there used to be.

Secondly, the presence of a significant number of travellers can lead to the matter of environmental impacts. In the streets or tourist destinations, garbage seems to be everywhere because of the lack of awareness of some visitors. Moreover, when these places become more crowded, traffic jams occur and may pollute the atmosphere.

Regarding those negative impacts, the government have to take prompt action in order to improve the consequences. They may raise the visitors'awareness of environmental issues by using video clip or poster at crowded places such as airports and tourist destinations. If travellers keep littering and ignore all of the warning signs, the government need to implement some specific penalties. Nevertheless, people should focus more on eco-tours and tried to travel to less crowded areas for a new experience.

In conclusion, despite having a positive impacts on the economy, the drawbacks of tourism can't be denied. The government should applied more methods to reduce those drawbacks and continue developing the tourism.