To some people studying the past is the best way to help young people function well in the modern world. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures could be effective in helping young people to function well in the modern world?

Learning about the past is surely beneficial for young citizens since it is a great way to avoid problems lurking in the future. People believe that it would help the young cope with the modern life effectively, however, whether it is the best way is uncertain. There are certain measures, which will be discuss in this essay, are also important and helpful to young people.

First of all, it seems that studying history is undeniable essential for younger people since it could give people insight about the government system, the culture and the nationality, which will leading to higher moral. Furthermore, it provides high-value information over the periods such as the world average temperature each years. Thus, people could take advance of these merits to avoid conflicts or prevent issues that might appear in the future, that is to say, global warming or war world 4 could be avoided. For example, racism phenomenon in the USA, where social unrest are usually caused by the different in nationalities, might be alleviated if the American have a better grasp about the foundation of the new world.

Whilst it is vital to studying the past, learning how to live independently is also of great importance, in order words, soft-skills such as cooking or time management should be taught at schools. Many people found that it is harder than expected when it comes to moving out and living alone, due to various reasons such as moving to other town or country to continue academic studying or looking for better job opportunities. So much pressure from living by oneself that recent research shows that over 60% of young abroad students feel depressed and anxiety for at least one year after they first settle in a new environment. Thus, if the education systems include more soft-skills courses, cooking classes or how to pay taxes, for example, in the curriculums, it would be helpful for the young to survive in the modern society.

In conclusion, it is true that what happen in the past should be studied thoroughly, but other unrelated living skills are also necessary for young people having a healthy and balance life in the modern world.