Many parents do not want their kids to watch ads in the media because they think the content might not be age-appropriate. I personally do not entirely agree with the idea that advertising aimed at children should be prohibited, and I will explain why in this essay.

On the one hand, I agree that children can be manipulated by advertisers who are smart enough to take advantage of their immaturity and innocence. Not only on TV, advertisements pop up everywhere, on computers, hand-held devices or even on the main gates of many kindergarten schools. As children easily expose to those forms of advertising, they may persuade their parents to buy some certain products while they do not really need them. In behavioral terms, children may become unreasonable and demanding if their parents cannot afford a product which is routinely advertised as a must-have. Besides, some manufacturers intriguingly describe their products as useful and essential while the reverse effects can be foreseen, namely junk food and video games.

Nonetheless, I incline to the view that banning advertisements aimed at children will not completely solve the problem. Firstly, advertising has become ubiquitously and universally available while parents cannot spend all their time with their children. Instead, they should teach their children the nature and purposes of advertising so that the youngsters themselves know how to distinguish real needs from those induced. Moreover, a prohibition on such activity might jeopardize commercial revenues of various businesses, ranging from product manufacturers to advertising agencies. In terms of financial benefits, we should also consider jobs and incomes of many people who might be affected by a restriction relating to advertising.

Overall, I believe that any unscrupulous commercial activities must be banned, but advertising aimed at young viewers might be acceptable if watched with parental guidance and the content is strictly controlled.