Famine has still been the greatest issue in many countries around the world despite the significant breakthroughs and advanced technologies applied in agricultural fields. Numerous reasons relating to social, political and environmental factors can be accounted for this disturbing phenomenon.

The first point to make is that political and ethnic conflicts are mainly to blame for the catastrophic starvation in many nations such as Sudan, Ethiopia or Venezuela. Over recent decades, people in African countries have been facing severe food shortages due to chronic conflicts between local ethnic groups and political parties. In spite of an enormous quantity of natural resources, Venezuelan people have still been starving because of the political crisis and this issue is still far from the end. Secondly, the agricultural innovations are seemingly no match for the environmental degradation caused by human activities. Floods, hurricanes and droughts are raging more frequently in Asian countries like the Philippines and Vietnam, posing threats to food security in many rural areas. Besides, overpopulation and diseases are also among the main reasons for the lack of food in the developing countries.

Since this problem is serious, tireless efforts must be made by governments and organizations all over the world. While food donations can temporarily ease people’s hunger, strategies for sustainable agricultural development are more likely to tackle food issues in the long run. Developed countries should be more obligated to help people in areas effected by natural disasters by providing food and agricultural technologies which help increase crop yield.

In conclusion, the scarcity of food has still been a global threat although many advanced technologies have been used in agricultural fields. Beside social factors, natural disasters are among principal reasons causing this phenomenon. Hence, all nations should be responsible for this issue by donating more food and having more effective solutions to diminish the repercussions of environmental problems.