Teenagers devote themselves with unpaid works to help the local community is become more and more common in recent years, and it seem to benefit both individual teenager and communities. However, I do not think a compulsory work should be required to do for teenagers, but I do believe a voluntary work would be a good idea.

With the intensive courses, students’ free times are occupied by various curriculums and homework, and it is difficult to attend unpaid community-base work. In addition, teenagers tend to relax by playing games or sports with their friends, that the compulsory makes it impossible for teenagers to do what they want to do in their spare time, and as a result, they have lower efficiency to do this unpaid work. Moreover, teenagers, due to their young age, have no enough ability to accomplish the communal work alone, so that there are so many sources might be wasted to help teenagers to complete their work.

On the other hand, I would argue that a voluntary work is better than the compulsory one. Teenagers can work as volunteers to construct their community in their free time if they want. This voluntary work makes more motivation for teenagers to accomplish their task better and more efficiency, which might have positive influence to their further social life. That teenagers are willing to work for communities provide a chance for communities to teach valuable experiences to teenagers.

In conclusion, as far as I am concerned, teenagers have the right to choose the work to help others; a voluntary work may help both individual teenager and society.