STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) subjects are gaining increasing attention from the government and public in modern society. Some people argue that students should only be allowed to study STEM subjects, which are more useful in the future than others, while others disagree and believe that students ought to study any subjects they want. In my opinion, while STEM subjects are important, students also need other subjects to develop other skills.

On the one hand, STEM are seen as the core subjects in many schools due to serval reasons. First, they can help you develop practical skills, which may stand you in good stead for competitions in the job market. For example, Engineering teaches you systematic knowledge from the building structure to construction. This knowledge and skills are unlikely to be achieved by students of other disciplines, constituting your own competitive strength in the job market. In addition, STEM subjects can help you build an understanding of the rules of our natural world, which is necessary to pursue higher achievements both in academia and industry.

On the other hand, other disciplines are also indispensable since they provide valuable insight into many other aspects of our society. For example, history is necessary because it helps students to know the past of their country, from which precious experience can be obtained to guide their future decisions. Patriotism can also be cultivated during the learning of the motherland's history, making a nation more powerful. Moreover, learning subjects like foreign languages and literature provide students with useful tools to explore distant cultures. Even if you have excellent engineering skills, knowing a foreign language is also needed when you work in a country with a different culture.

To summarize, I argue that while STEM subjects are important and useful for building practical skills and finding jobs, other subjects should not be ignored as they serve different purposes. They all play indispensable roles in personal and social development.