Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The subject choice for university students is one of the most popular topics in today's world. While many people believe that students should be able to choose what subjects they want to learn, others often argue that science and technology should be prioritized as they are more useful in the future. In this essay, I will discuss both views and state my opinion at the end.

People who are in favor of letting students study whatever they enjoy often bring up a good point that different students have different strengths and personalities which are more suited to a specific field. University graduates who are well versed in their favorable fields will show greater advancement in life, earning better wages, landing jobs with higher positions, and be happier. This is because if you do the things that you like, you will never work a day in your life. Another good point is that subjects besides science and technology do have certain values. For example, literature will help us explore different emotions, improve communicative skills and aid us in becoming more aware of life itself; history will help us remember those that came before us, the ones that shaped the foundation of our society and preserve the historical and cultural values that define nations.

There are some who oppose this view; however, it is easy to understand their argument that students ought to learn science and technology because of the importance of these subjects. Science has always been the key to the creation of thousands of useful inventions that we now use in our daily life. Nowadays, it can be said that ingenuity engineering is vital to solving global problems such as overpopulation, climate change, global warming. Another point they usually mention is that science and technology will help students to develop useful skills such as problem-solving, critical thinking, lateral thinking which are beneficial in both work life and personal life.

In conclusion, it is by no means an easy task for everyone to determine which side of the argument they should take because both sides appear to prove their points. However, I personally believe that students should be able to choose what to learn as there are many ways to contribute to society, not just through science and technology.