Unemployment is one of the most serious problems facing developed nations today. What are the advantages and/or disadvantages of reducing the working week to thirty five hours?

Unemployment has recently emerged as one of the most popular issues in developed countries. To be more specific, there have been several opinions and statements on the topic, and one typically suggests that companies should reduce the working week to thirty-five hours. In this essay, I will explore the disadvantages and advantages of this issue.

On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that the benefits of a thirty-five hours work week far outweigh the drawbacks. The main reason for believing this is that this helps employees to achieve a balanced work-life and personal life. Workers often find themselves not having enough time to relax and take care of themselves, so they usually arrive at work feeling tired and unmotivated, affecting the company's productivity rate. However, with the reduction of working hours, they can now spend more time learning new skills, participating in different activities, or spend it with their loved ones. This will help them feel happier, more energetic, and more likely to perform better in a work environment. It is also possible to say that employees that are not overworked and are stress-free will undoubtedly be more loyal and committed to the company's goal.

Likewise, the statement above is not generally consisted as an accurate one to everybody since there are some people who do not advocate it. As regards their justification, a reason usually claimed by many of them is that this will dramatically reduce the amount of work that an employee could manage. For example, if there were two equally talented employees with the same level of productivity, the one that follows the standard working hour will accomplish far more than the one with thirty-five hours workweek. This can also result in the employment of more workers to compensate for the loss of hours, which will affect the company's spending. Moreover, a second point could be that due to more money spent on hiring, companies will have to raise the price of their products to keep the company running, which will cause customer satisfaction to drop significantly.

All things considered, it is by no means an easy task for everyone to determine which side of the argument they should take because both sides appear to prove their points. However, I personally think that the advantages considerably exceed the disadvantages and should be put into practice with the assumption that the proper measures are taken to reduce the drawbacks.