Joblessness is indeed a grave issue confronting industrialized nations nowadays. This phenomenon can be mitigated by lessening professional schedule to 35 hours which has the pros and cons as explained in this essay.

The first advantage of reducing working hours is having more chance to, especially, young people to become a part of work-life. People will have the opportunity to show their talents and abilities due to the necessity of extra workers. In addition, the number of people having the same job will also decrease spending time on deadlines, meetings or projects which create excessive stress over employees. Employees who are released from the stress show more productivity, commitment while boosting their motivation on their works which definitely also beneficial for companies not only to make more profitable but also to make them more successful in the business market. Importantly, people can use remained extra time from work for their pursuit of happiness either spending with their beloved ones or self-improvement such as learning a new language or their hobbies.

On the other hand, one should consider the drawbacks of this implementation. At first, as the number of employees is increasing, the salaries will certainly be affected by decreasing due to the fact that most companies calculate the salaries of employees per hour of work. The other disadvantage of this issue is the increase in competition about the job. Although workers assigned on the same project feel less stressful due to decreased workload, many become more competitive and aggressive to become more resident in the workplace in case of any economic crisis situation.

To conclude, in order to mitigate the unemployment problem, 35-hour work in a week can be one of the possible solutions that have the advantages and disadvantages to be considered by developed societies