Some people believe that everyone should be free to make their own lifestyle choices even if those choices are unhealthy Other people think that the government should intervene to influence people s choices for example by putting high taxes on unhealthy p

There is a controversial issue about how much freedom should be given to people about their lifestyles. Some might completely advocate of personal freedom, while the others support the government interferences on unhealthy lifestyle choices. In this essay, both side of views will be examined.

On one hand, people should be free about what to do with their own bodies including their lifestyles. Choosing junk food for each meal, consuming excessive amount of alcohol daily or smoking which are some deadly accustoms are examples of people’s habits. However, they are all personal choices as given totally free. Although these choices can be harmful for human body, people have their own minds to separate the right and wrong decisions and decide what they best for them. No one can put pressure on anybody’s choices to convert them into better ones such as pushing one to pass an active lifestyle like doing sport regularly instead of sedentary lifestyle or eating vegetables or quitting smoking.

On the other hand, some people think the governments should take measures regarding the healthy lifestyles of individuals not just to protect individual’s health but also for safety and continuum of next generation. Government should have to limit to consumption of processed food which include many different chemicals to be harmful human body in a long-term use such as fertilization and alcohols which also create some kind of addiction influencing the properly working of brains. To prevent unhealthy choices, governments can limit the use of them in different ways such as applying high taxes, increasing awareness with public with advert companies or building free help organizations to convince people to make difference on their lives. Encouragements from the government can be more effective and deterrent method about giving up of unhealthy habits of people for their safety.

To conclude, both views expressed in the question are correct. However, I believe that governments should have right to apply some implementations and take precautions about unhealthy habits to protect their now and future citizens. Still, people should have enough freedom to choice and decide about their lives without feeling any pressure form governments.