Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like Others believe that they should be only allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future such as those related to science and technology Discuss both these views and

University education plays a vital role in a person's overall success, which makes the choice as to what to study in this phase fairly important. Although science and technology majors can be ensured a better employment prospect, I still think that choosing to study what students are truly interested in matters more.

First and foremost, studying a major where students’ passion truly lies, they can be more devoted to studying itself, delving into the oceans of knowledge and reaching adamic achievements unexpected, even though the major can be less popular. A Psychology major will more actively read journals and papers in his spare time; a history major will more voluntarily dig deeper in a historic event. Not only can they gain a better academic performance in that field, but long-term growth in future career is guaranteed. Some may worry certain domains students are interested in may have less job vacancies and therefore graduates will risk being jobless right after graduation. Driven by their interest, however, students are more likely to accumulate knowledge profoundly, which could well ease the previous concern.

Furthermore, let's not forget that even with a greater demand in the job market, useful subjects like science and technology can be extremely difficult to take, particularly to those more talented in art, music, or sports. Those abstract terms and theories in useful subjects could easily perplex them, further dampening their interest in these fields and probably leading them to end up with failure in graduation.

Imagine how society becomes if university freshmen are only required to study science, technology and engineering. True, the science and the technology level of the whole country may be brought to a brand-new higher level because of more talents cultivated. There is, nevertheless, also the risk of a large number of science graduates unemployed, as the total of jobs available in the market is finite in a period of time. Also, the country may face severe imbalance of talents, with an insignificant number of artists, musicians, historians or archaeologists, who contribute to a richer, more dynamic culture.

Therefore, I think university students should be encouraged to study the subject they find interesting and inviting, through which not only knowledge is firmly obtained, but passion for lifelong study ignited. This matters more to a person's general happiness. University education should be about realizing who we really are, instead of being who we are expected to be.