In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore s ten video rental stores Since we are famous for our special bargains raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits Last mon

Simply based on the evidence and explanation stated in the memorandum, the author reached the conclusion that in order to reverse the decline in their profits, all stores of the video-rental chain should decrease their opening hours and remove all movies released more than 5 years ago to reduce their operating expenses. Although it appears to be reasonable at the first glance, the following questions ought to be carefully answered and addressed in order to enhance the logical credibility of the argument.

Primarily, the author quoted a seemingly successful case of the store in downtown Marston to prove the effectiveness of the two approaches to be implemented. Even though it appears that the two approaches worked in the store, the question whether the approaches would work in other nine stores whose conditions are quite different from the store in Marston is still required to be answered. The different conditions of other nine stores may lead to different results if they just simply copy the approaches adopted by the Marston store. For example, if one store in the nine is located in a living area of the city, then the early closing of the store will not only reduce the operating expense obviously, owing to the relative cheap rental fee in the living area, but also make the store lose hundreds of guests, since people usually arrive home and start shopping between 6:00 and 9:00. In this way, the profits of that store may dimmish greatly owing to the newly adopted measurements. Hence, the further addressing on the question will enhance the logical credibility of the argument.

Moreover, the case that the argument is based on only investigates the outputs of the measures in the last month. Hence, the question that needs to be carefully addressed is whether the approaches will lead to the same effects in the long term. Admittedly, the results of the measures could be good in first month, the consequence may change greatly in the long term. For example, even though the decrease in the operating cost of the stores may // lead to an increase in profits in that month, some customers, like fans on old and out-of-selling movies may not be able to rent videos they want, and then choose to not come back next time. Hence, in the long term, the profits of the store may decrease, even with a decrease in operating expense.

Finally, one unstated assumption which, however, plays an essential role in the development of the argument is that a creasing operating expense only leads to an increase in the profits of the stores, and causes no other side effects at the same time. Hence, one question that ought to be answered is whether the measures of the stores cause no other side effects. In fact, the common senses inform me that the shorter opening time and the removement of the old movies actually do contribute to many other effects, instead of a decrease in operating expense alone. Take the store in Marston as an example. Based on the common sense, people will not hang out, go shopping and watch videos unless they have called it a day. And the time between 6:00 and 9:00 is actually the time when people just finish their work and have fun. In this way, the early closing of the store may make the store lose many customers, which decreases its profits at a result. Therefore, unless the question is well explicated, the development of the argument appears to be logically fragile.

In conclusion, the argument is not convincing as it stands. If the argument had included the discussion on the issues stated above, it would have been more thoughtful and logically acceptable.